

This exchange visitor holds a J-visa sponsored by the U.S. Department of State and is one of approximately 850 Fulbright Visiting Scholars planning to conduct research or teach in the United States this academic year.

The Fulbright Program (exchange visitor program number G-1-00005) sponsored by the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, is the U.S. government's flagship international exchange program and is supported by the people of the United States and partner countries around the world. For more information on the Fulbright Program, please visit <u>http://eca.state.gov/Fulbright</u>.

There has been confusion regarding recent Presidential Proclamations and the operating status of the Fulbright Program in recent weeks. The purpose of this letter is to reiterate several key points:

- The Form DS-2019 for this Fulbright Visiting Scholar was issued by the U.S. Department of State after confirmation that the school/department at the U.S. host university would follow an in-person or hybrid instructional model.
- Presidential Proclamations 10014 and 10052, which suspended and limited the entry into the United States of certain non-immigrant visa holders through December 31, 2020, does not apply to this exchange visitor. The Proclamations only apply to J-visa exchange visitors in the following categories: intern, trainee, teacher, camp counselor, au pair, and summer work travel. Presidential Proclamations 10014 and 10052 do not apply to exchange visitors in the college/university student, professor, research scholar, short-term scholar, and specialist categories. For more information, please visit https://www.whitehouse.gov/presidential-actions/proclamation-suspending-entry-aliens-present-risk-u-s-labor-market-following-coronavirus-outbreak/.
- *Presidential Proclamations 9993 and 9996* suspended and limited the entry into the United States of nonimmigrants who were physically present within the Schengen Area of Europe, as well as the United Kingdom and Ireland, during the 14-day period preceding their entry into the United States. These proclamations only apply to citizens of the following 28 countries or those transiting through them to come to the United States: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom and Ireland.
- Note that exchange visitors participating in the Fulbright Student Program qualify for a national interest exception (NIE) and should be allowed to travel with the appropriate notation on their J-visa. For more information, please visit <u>https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/News/visas-news/exceptions-to-p-p-10014-10052-suspending-entry-of-immigrants-non-immigrants-presenting-risk-to-us-labor-market-during-economic-recovery.html.</u>

If you have questions regarding this exchange visitor or the Fulbright Program, please contact me at 202-255-3687 or <u>SoursLA@state.gov</u>.

Regards,

Leigh a sources

Leigh A. Sours Senior Analyst and Responsible Officer (RO) for the Fulbright Student Program U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Office of Academic Exchange Programs 2200 C Street, NW, Fourth Floor Washington, DC 20522-0504